top of page
mlemouseketips

Review- Ale & Compass



We recently stayed at the Yacht Club Resort, and decided to snag some last minute reservations at one of the hotel's restaurants-- Ale & Compass. I took a quick glance at the menu before I booked the reservation to make sure there were items on the menu that I would order.


We arrived at 6:20pm on the dot for our reservation. They took our phone number and informed us that they would text us when our table was ready. I asked about how long the wait would be and they said "about 10-15 minutes....hopefully." Well that didn't sound very promising, but we went outside and wandered around, then came back and waited in the hotel lobby. After 25 minutes had gone by, I went back to check and we were told that our table was being cleaned and it would be ready shortly. Five minutes later, the text came through that the table was ready. We were asked at check-in if we needed a high chair (I said "yes"), and the table they were walking us to did not have one. The hostess (same one) asked me if we needed a high chair, and I said yes (again). My husband pointed out to her that the table across the way already had a high chair set up, and was that possibly our table. She she "oh yes!" and as we turned around, we realized another hostess was waiting for us to get out of the way so she could seat the party she had at this table.




We finally made it to our table, and our waiter quickly came over. We ordered drinks and an appetizer-- Parker House Rolls and Spreads with Bacon Jam, Pub Cheese, and Citrus Butter. The bacon jam and citrus butter were ok, and the pub cheese was good but it did taste like that spreadable cheese that comes with those cheese and crackers and that red stick.


I ordered the 'Brick' Lemon-Herb Half Chicken. It came with duck fat-roasted fingerling potatoes, broccolini, sautéed wild mushroom, and pan jus. My husband ordered the Cabernet braised short ribs with the roasted vegetable mash and barbecue demi. He also "enhanced" his meal with a side of lobster mac & cheese. My husband loved his dish. Mine was another story. I tried cutting into the breast portion of the chicken and the knife barely cut through. When I cut into the drumstick, it was still pink. I would have understood a pink color if the chicken was smoked, but as a rotisserie chicken that I was also feeding to my 11-month old, I wasn't taking any chances. I truly don't like sending food back, but we sent this one back. It took a while for the second dish to come back, and by the time it did I wasn't hungry anymore. I will say that the fingerling potatoes were very good. The waiter apologized and so did a manager, but even the second plate wasn't very good. It was slightly more tender, but was not very moist and you could just tell it had been reheated.


We didn't order dessert. Our little guy was getting restless and we were planning on hopping over to EPCOT to grab dessert in the world showcase.


Overall, it was ok. I've definitely had better meals and experiences at other restaurants at WDW. I've heard the brunch is good here, so maybe I'll try it again for that type of meal, but for dinner I don't think we will be coming back any time soon.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page